By clicking submit I agree to be contacted by Frank Leo via call, email, and text. To opt-out, you can reply 'stop' at any time or click the unsubscribe link in the emails. Message and data rates may apply.

    Auston Matthews became the first Toronto Maple Leaf’s player to win the Hart Memorial Trophy since Ted Kennedy in 1955. The award goes out to the NHL’s most valuable player and was handed out on Tuesday night. The 24-year-old received 119 first-place votes in voting by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. 

    Edmonton’s Connor McDavid and Igor Shesterskin of the New York Randers placed well behind Matthews. Shesterskin won the Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goaltender. Cales Makar from Colorado won the Norris Trophy which goes to the leagues best defenceman. 

    After winning, Matthews said “I can’t lie. It feels really good. … It’s pretty special, … There is some against, wishing you were still playing,” Mathews became the first player to score 60 goals in a single season since Steven Stamkos did it 10 years ago.

    For more information about the source click HERE